“Subscribe

You're the ref

MrTeabreak

Subscribed
Attacking team put a through ball to their striker who is clear in on goal.
Goalie runs out and misses the ball, striker takes shot that hits post and rebounds to another attacker on the penalty spot.
At this point the goalie is outside the 18 yard box nowhere near the play, there's one recovering defender wide of the goal in the 18 and another inside the 6 yard box.
Attackers shot is goal-bound but somehow the ref gets in the way and diverts it wide, the defender may or may not have stopped the shot.

What is the correct decision the referee should give?
 

Paddysfoxes

Bill Poster
Attacking team put a through ball to their striker who is clear in on goal.
Goalie runs out and misses the ball, striker takes shot that hits post and rebounds to another attacker on the penalty spot.
At this point the goalie is outside the 18 yard box nowhere near the play, there's one recovering defender wide of the goal in the 18 and another inside the 6 yard box.
Attackers shot is goal-bound but somehow the ref gets in the way and diverts it wide, the defender may or may not have stopped the shot.

What is the correct decision the referee should give?
Feck knows ask VAR
 

Filbo65

Thatched roofer
Here's another...
The ball goes out of play, and a player from the team who have the throw-in tries to get the ball off a sub of the other team who's grabbed it whilst warming up near that part of the touchline. They both get involved in a scuffle, which ends with both players throwing punches. Both rightly get a red card for their pugilistic efforts.
Can the ref do anything about the fact that he's just handed a far greater penalty to the team now down to ten men, than he's done to the team now down to one less sub to choose from?
 

GTIF

Subscribed
Attacking team put a through ball to their striker who is clear in on goal.
Goalie runs out and misses the ball, striker takes shot that hits post and rebounds to another attacker on the penalty spot.
At this point the goalie is outside the 18 yard box nowhere near the play, there's one recovering defender wide of the goal in the 18 and another inside the 6 yard box.
Attackers shot is goal-bound but somehow the ref gets in the way and diverts it wide, the defender may or may not have stopped the shot.

What is the correct decision the referee should give?
Goal kick the referee is part of the field of play
 

GTIF

Subscribed
Here's another...
The ball goes out of play, and a player from the team who have the throw-in tries to get the ball off a sub of the other team who's grabbed it whilst warming up near that part of the touchline. They both get involved in a scuffle, which ends with both players throwing punches. Both rightly get a red card for their pugilistic efforts.
Can the ref do anything about the fact that he's just handed a far greater penalty to the team now down to ten men, than he's done to the team now down to one less sub to choose from?
No they were both correctly red carded
 

Lonesome Crow

King of the lurkers.
That's fair enough, but surely then you can't have a situation where a sub could deliberately provoke a fight with an oppo player
just to get a numerical advantage on the pitch.
 

Adumass

Bentleys Roofer
Attacking team put a through ball to their striker who is clear in on goal.
Goalie runs out and misses the ball, striker takes shot that hits post and rebounds to another attacker on the penalty spot.
At this point the goalie is outside the 18 yard box nowhere near the play, there's one recovering defender wide of the goal in the 18 and another inside the 6 yard box.
Attackers shot is goal-bound but somehow the ref gets in the way and diverts it wide, the defender may or may not have stopped the shot.

What is the correct decision the referee should give?
This actually happened didn't it? Saw it in the week. South America somewhere weren't it?
 

MrTeabreak

Subscribed
This actually happened didn't it? Saw it in the week. South America somewhere weren't it?
yup, i'm just watching the game right now. cruz azul v toluca.

As far as a i could see, he gave a drop ball to the defending team, so there must be some special rule if it happens in the 18 yard box!!
 
Last edited:

wints

Subscribed
just read they have changed the law since I finished up
But how many times have you seen the ball 'hit' the ref this season Gerry. there has been a dozen occasions I reckon, including 3 in one game I watched. You must have noticed its a drop ball.
 

borebage53

Knife & Fork pending
Boots on fire tried to pull a fast one when we played at Preston some years ago. Giving the ball back to Preston after a stoppage he hit the ball hard and high from around the halfway line. It was sailing on target towards the Preston goalie. We were all sitting in that end hoping the goalie would forget the rules and try and catch it,Buck the job up,and defect it in for a goal. But he stood aside and watched it bounce once and over the bar. Worth a try though!
 
“Subscribe
“Subscribe
Top